Bill Tinapple Wins 2014 Domestic Gas Award

The vital contribution of former DMPexecutive Director Bill Tinapple was today recognised as winner of the 2014 WA Gas Industry Development Award.

The vital contribution of former Department of Mines and Petroleum Executive Director Bill Tinapple was today recognised as winner of the Western Australia Gas Industry Development Award for 2014.

Sponsored by North West Shelf Gas Pty Ltd and the Chamber of Minerals and Energy of Western Australia (CME), the Gas Industry Development Award recognises an outstanding contribution by an individual or company toward development of the domestic gas industry in Western Australia.

CME Chief Executive Reg Howard-Smith said Mr Tinapple was a worthy recipient for his contribution as the Executive Director for Petroleum at the Department of Mines and Petroleum.

“Mr Tinapple has been involved in the oil and gas industry for over 40 years and moved to Western Australia as an engineering contractor on the North West Shelf,” said Mr Howard-Smith.

“After 12 years in the Northern Territory he joined the Department of Mines and Petroleum in 1998 as the Director of Petroleum,” said Mr Howard-Smith.

“Mr Tinapple was instrumental in facilitating and encouraging the large multi-client 3D survey offshore campaign in the 1990s, oversaw changes within the department resulting from amendments to the Commonwealth’s offshore petroleum legislation, and has facilitated the development of a regulatory framework for unconventional gas in Western Australia,” said Mr Howard-Smith

Originally from Ohio Mr Tinapple’s qualifications are in Engineering with a Masters of Business Administration from Ohio State University. He has worked across the world on several oil and gas projects in the US, Libya, Indonesia, North Sea, Norway, Nigeria, Japan, Australia and Abu Dhabi, before making the permanent move to Australia in 1985.

Mr Tinapple joins an esteemed list of past winners, including BHP Billiton and Apache Energy for the Macedon Domestic Gas Plant on 2013. Other Award winners include Thomas Maher from Apache and John Anderson from Santos for the Devil Creek domestic gas project, Alcoa of Australia Limited, Sir Charles Court, Bill Rogers, Phil Harvey, Harry Butler, Des Kelly, Eve Howell, Tim Shanahan, Keith Spence, Stuart Hohnen, David Agostini and David Eiszele.